Life decisions and all that…

So if you knew me, then you’d know that I am the worst decision maker… ever! So the amount of talk that’s been going on about ‘my future’ and ‘careers’ is alarming me quite a lot. Like everyone else, when I was younger I wanted to be a teacher, although unlike everyone else before that I wanted to be a farmer, that is beside the point; I no longer want to be either a teacher or, surprisingly, a farmer. So what do I want to do? I know, I know, you don’t have to know exactly what you want to do with your life at 16, but you still have to make some pretty big decisions; you could leave school and get a job, get an apprenticeship, go to college, or just stay on at sixth form.

So today I filled in my form to say that I’m going to stay on at sixth form, it just felt like I was signing my life away! I know that I don’t want to do any of the other options but it feels like such a big decision for a teenager to make! I don’t understand all the teenagers who want to grow up and have more responsibility now, I don’t want to have to make important decisions, I don’t feel old enough! I suppose sixth form isn’t that big of a deal, but in the first year you need to start thinking about university and that really scares me! Just trying to forget and ignore those big decisions is probably the way forward right now, well that’s what I’ll be doing anyway.

Leave a Reply

