Daily Prompt: Call Me, Maybe

Describe your relationship with your phone. Is it your lifeline, a buzzing nuisance, or something in between?

It’s quite a coincidence that this is the daily prompt for today, because whilst going on a trip to a local university we were having a similar discussion. At first it was about psychology in social media and about how connected we were, illustrated by the amount of ringtones that went off during the lecture! We also then had the discussion later on in the day about how much time we can actually waste on our phones and particularly social networking. So when I got home and saw that this was today’s prompt, I thought that it would be a good subject to write about.

Now, because I’ve never really been one of the popular people my phone never was very important to me, especially before I met my boyfriend. Everyone else’s phones were always buzzing and bleeping full of messages from various love interests or friends, whereas mine was the quiet brick phone hid away in my bag.

Since then I have become part of the ‘iPhone club’ and now I don’t know how I’d cope without it! Although the popularity thing hasn’t increased dramatically, now I have Facebook, Twitter and millions of apps at my fingertips! I have my whole life on there, there’s my calendar, my numerous to-do lists and even possible universities! Now I know that it’s bad to feel this dependent, but then if the technology is there then why not make use of it? Up to a point I do believe it improves our social lives, especially for a fairly shy person like me, the issue is when people abuse the power that it gives them, that’s the problem that needs to be fixed.

Now, if you will excuse me, I need to go and check Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest before my head explodes or something (that is what happens if you stay away from social networks for longer that an hour right?).

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Call Me, Maybe

Leave a Reply

