Burn Baby Burn

Daily Prompt (from ages ago) – Your home is on fire. Grab five items (assume all people and animals are safe). What did you grab?

I can’t imagine how traumatic it would be if my house burnt down, even if all the people and animals were safe, it pretty much contains all my memories. I know in a tragedy like that I shouldn’t be thinking about the materialistic things, but you would actually have to start all over again and that must be so hard. So the five things I would save are:

My teddy bear: I have had him since I was a baby, the evidence of this being the chewed ears, hole on his cheek and generally battered appearance. I didn’t know this until recently, but he came free with a box of Persil wash tablets and was then creatively named Percy by my parents. I know that I couldn’t leave him behind.

Percy

Percy

My box of stuff (1): This is a box that my best friend gave me for my birthday to disguise the Pandora bag for the charm she’d bought me, it is covered in photos of me and her. Inside this box I have stored a few old birthday cards that were particularly special, letters and cards from my boyfriend, photo albums that my best friend has customized and other sentimental things like that.

Box of stuff (1)

Box of stuff (1)

My laptop: I know this sounds a bit bad, but my laptop has so many things on it that I wouldn’t want to lose! It has all my music, so many photos, diaries that I have started, old songs that I’ve written (always good to laugh at) and all sorts. I spend a considerable amount of time on here, so it does store a big chunk of my life.

Laptop

Laptop

My drawer of stuff: In this draw I have so many things, I have various sentimental necklaces, like one I was given when I was a bridesmaid for my godmother, a cross from my grandparents and a few others too. Underneath the necklaces there are 2 old diaries that I used to keep when I was in Junior school, and below those are all the notes, pictures and hamma bead creations that my best friend has given me over the years. I know that whenever I’m feeling a bit down, I can just read through those and it will definitely get me laughing again!

Drawer of stuff

Drawer of stuff

My box of stuff (2): If there was a real fire I don’t know how feasible this would be because my box of stuff 2 is firstly in the loft and secondly absolutely massive; but because this is a fake fire it is being included. Inside this box is all of the things from my childhood; from my first pair of shoes to my school reports. I love looking through this box because I always find something new, last time I happened to find a little Barbie purse filled with my milk teeth (mmm!). I didn’t take an actual picture of this one because I can’t actually get into the loft as I’m too short.. So here’s a picture of my loft instead.

Box of stuff (2) is in there somewhere

Box of stuff (2) is in there somewhere

My Pandora bracelet and locket: Now I know strictly speaking I said five things but I wear these all the time, so at the time of this imaginary fire I’ll say I was wearing them so they’d come out with me anyway. I only recently got both of these, but I’ve worn them pretty much everyday since. My boyfriend got my the Pandora bracelet for my birthday and on it are 3 charms from my 3 most important people (technically groups of people) my family, best friend and boyfriend. My locket, I got last Christmas from my parents and it took me almost until this Christmas to put photos in it!

Pandora bracelet and locket

Pandora bracelet and locket

So there we go, those are my 5-ish things I would save; such difficult decisions to make for someone who is as anti-decision making as I am!

 

Leave a Reply

