I Do Believe in Fairies!

Daily Prompt: The Tooth Fairy (or Easter Bunny, or Santa Claus . . .): a fun and harmless fiction, or a pointless justification for lying to children?

Personally I don’t see that there is anything wrong with telling children about the Tooth Fairy and her clan, surely it just makes losing your teeth (which can be a scary experience), or holidays more magical. I know for me Christmas without believing in Father Christmas just isn’t the same, despite how much I still love Christmas, I never get the same buzz of excitement as I used to when I thought someone was magically bringing me presents. I think that it’s completely harmless, what bad effect is it really going to have on children, as long as they find out before they start secondary school, there’ll be no problem. It’s different to lying, it’s more like pretending or playing an imaginary game, something that children do anyway, so where is the issue?

I don’t know why some of the characters are more believed in than others though; everyone believes in Santa Claus when they’re little, but I don’t ever remember really believing in the Easter Bunny, and the Tooth Fairy was kind of ruined for me when I watched my mum creep in and exchange the tooth whilst I was pretending to be asleep. I think that it just makes life more exciting, I would love to still believe that there was an actual fairy that was magically taking away my teeth to build a castle or necklace, or whatever she’s meant to do with them. Believing in magic is part of the innocence of childhood and I don’t think it should be taken away.

Leave a Reply

