Cringe-tastic

Daily Prompt: Do you feel uncomfortable when you see someone else being embarrassed? What’s most likely to make you squirm?

Yes! So much so! This happens all the time, at the stupidest of things, whether they be people on TV, my friends, or just people in general. I don’t know why I do it, it gets to the point where it almost physically hurts to watch people embarrassing themselves, whether they know it or not.

The first thing that jumped into my head when I read this prompt in my e-mails was Britain’s Got Talent. I used to watch this, even enjoy it, for a few years when it was all about Susan Boyle (not that I liked her but still). I’m not sure what happened in the space of about a year, but all of a sudden I was watching it and every time someone under the age of 20 came on I was unbearably embarrassed for them, not necessarily because they were bad, just because it was so obvious that they didn’t know how to act in front of all of those people and cameras (not that I would either, but in my opinion that doesn’t make for good television viewing). So I stopped watching it. I find that X Factor isn’t quite as bad because there’s an age limit but it’s still not great.

People in real life make me cringe too, when people say something that’s out of place or inappropriate for the situation, even if it may not be embarrassing for them, I somehow seem to feel their embarrassment for them. Which is ridiculous. It’s like I feel that I am responsible for the action of every person who is roundabout my age. Which is also ridiculous.

I don’t understand it when people enjoy watching other people embarrass themselves, or when people don’t seem to care that they’re embarrassing themselves. Maybe this just shows that I care too much of what people think of me and what is the ‘socially acceptable’ way to act.

I don’t even know.

But I do know that yes, I do feel uncomfortable when I see someone else being embarrassed and it really does make me squirm.

2 thoughts on “Cringe-tastic

Leave a Reply

