Story Time

Daily Prompt: What was your favourite book as a child? Did it influence the person you are now?

When I was younger, I think that my favourite book was anything by Jacqueline Wilson. I know; how predictable. Particularly, me and my best friend were obsessed with the book ‘Best Friends’, we were convinced that Jacqueline Wilson was writing our lives; you see in the book one of the girls moves far away to Scotland and I was moving down the road, which of course to 9 year old girls is practically the same thing. I loved all of the Jacqueline Wilson books, but I’m pretty glad that they didn’t influence me too much because everyone in those books seems so broken and depressed, which I’m happy to say I am not.

A series of books I used to love when I was about 11 or 12, is the Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging books by Louise Rennison. I thought they were hilarious, and I still do! I wanted to be just like her, so I would think that it probably did influence the person I am today, it inspired me to be myself more and just have fun. How cheesy.

I really loved reading then and read so many different books, so it’s hard to really remember the ones that influenced me. But I’m sure that Harry Potter has to have had something to do with it, surprise surprise! All the courage and determination it teaches, it has to be one of the most influential books, especially for young people.

At the moment, I’m in a bit of a reading rut, I haven’t read properly for a long while, for various revision and work reasons, you may have guessed this by the lack of progress on my ‘100 books to read before I die’ list (or maybe you haven’t, I’m going to be honest, I’d forgotten I even had the page!). Hopefully the lack of reading will change now I have more free time and I will get round to reading some more influential books that will inevitably change me further.

One thought on “Story Time

Leave a Reply

