Decision Making Sucks!

Daily Prompt: How are you more likely to make an important decision — by reasoning through it, or by going with your gut?

I am an awful decision maker. I think I am missing the essential gut instinct decision making skill in my brain. I over think every single small decision I make, second guessing myself and annoying everyone around me by asking them to make the decision for me.

For these reasons, I am completely and utterly dreading these next 6 months. By the end of this year I’m going to have to have decided what university I want to go to. I can’t even cope with small decisions, like what to have for tea; this is life changing. So my approach so far has been to ignore the looming decision, with the hope that one day it will suddenly hit me and I will know what I want to do with my life. I know, I know, I don’t need to have to have an actual life plan, but it’s scary that I have to take the first steps. But I’m sure that you’ll hear plenty about that soon, in future blog posts, lucky you!

So to get back to the prompt, I definitely like to reason through my decisions, I’m too afraid of choosing wrongly to go with my gut. I like to think about it for a long time, get many other people’s opinions (mainly my mum’s) and then think about it some more. Dragging the dreadful decision making on for much longer than necessary seems to be something that I am especially good at. How lovely.

Leave a Reply

