Clones Please!

Currently I am curled up in my ‘illness nest’ surrounded by tissues, medicines and books. I’m not one to just take sick days all the time, in fact I can’t remember the last time I was off school for being ill. This week I’m supposed to be at the hospital, doing work experience; I have been on the heart ward and thought that it probably wasn’t a great idea to infect the already vulnerable patients. So here I am, in my ‘nest of ill’, writing this instead.

Daily Prompt: If you could clone yourself, how would you split up your responsibilities?

This is something that I think about quite a lot, surprisingly. I always wonder, if someone was your clone would they think exactly the same things as you, or would you have control over their thoughts and actions too. Also, would they actually be your clone at the same age you are now, or would you have to raise them from a baby. All questions I would like answers to!

But for now, I’m going to ignore those questions and just imagine that it wasn’t a baby clone and that it wouldn’t rebel against me in some giant clone war.

I would love to have a clone, it would mean that I could live out many different lives, without worrying that I had made some wrong decision along the way, because I would always have that second chance.

I would love to have one clone or life, where I was artistic, I could spend hours improving my painting and drawing skills, I could be an interior designer and go to places just to appreciate their beauty and culture.

I would have one clone that was theatrical, that pursued drama right until the end, who could perform Shakespeare on big stages, with thousands watching. Whilst playing guitar, professionally, like my guitar teacher seems to want me to do.

I could have one life in which I was a scientist, in a laboratory, inventing cures for diseases, working with other passionate people, expressing my true inner nerd. I would be doing science and maths because I enjoy it, not because I was working for an exam, I could even be at Cambridge. In fact, I could be the one to clone me in the first place… hmm.

I would have one life where I chose medicine, I chose to devote my life to making myself the best possible candidate so the universities would accept me and then working my way up, being confident in my decisions and saving people’s lives. I would be following the distant dream I’ve had in the back of my mind, for ridiculous reasons like watching ER and Scrubs, but I would love it anyway.

I would love to have all of these different lives, but I suppose the trick is that you have to combine a bit of all of the others into the life you choose. I am at that point where I have to be making the decisions of which of these lives I really want, which is really scaring me, but I forget that once I have made my choice it doesn’t mean that that’s it; I can still change my mind 20, 30, or 50 years down the line.

After the 3 days of work experience I have just had in the hospital I think that I’m swaying towards the last life, medicine, I am very scared about how hard that life will be, but I hope that it would be worth it. I don’t think that I have really answered the daily prompt, but you are meant to interpret these in your own way, right?

Leave a Reply

