Bionic Hearing Please!

Daily Prompt: If you were forced to give up one sense, but gain super-sensitivity in another, which senses would you choose?

If I had to give up a sense, it would be smell. I guess that that’s the sense that most people would choose to give up, and I think that I would miss it, but it probably wouldn’t be as noticeable as others. That one is the least important, I think. Although I would definitely miss the smell of my perfume, or coconuts, or my boyfriend. Apparently smell has a big impact on taste too, and that is something I really don’t want to lose; food is too good!

The sense I would choose to have super-sensitivity in would definitely be hearing, I do love a bit of earwigging on people’s conversations (I know I shouldn’t!). It’s so addictive just to listen to what’s going on in other people’s lives, that you wouldn’t necessarily know before. I think it would be useful because you could hear if people were talking about you, and more importantly what they were saying. Too many times I have heard people mentioning my names in conversations and been so intrigued (who wouldn’t be), but I just can’t hear well enough to get the gist of what they’re saying; and then I think about it for months.

I think my reasoning for wanting super-sensitive hearing basically stems from my caring too much about what people say, or think, about me. Which I know isn’t healthy, but it’s much easier to say I don’t care than actually mean it.

I also have a tendency to mishear people when they’re talking to me, although this can be funny at times, it’s not very amusing when meeting new people and you have said ‘what?’ five times and still have no idea what their name is.

One thought on “Bionic Hearing Please!

  1. annesquared says:

    I would agree on the choices. Smell is a tough one because it impacts taste…but we don’t rely as much on smell to begin with as so many animals do for survival. (I’ve always secretly wanted supersonic hearing 😉

Leave a Reply

