Results Day: One Year On

Today, in England, is A level results day. This means that this morning a whirlwind hit the lives of 18 year olds everywhere as they found out where they will be taking the next step of their journey and what that step may be. The fluttering hearts and clammy hands will have made their way into schools to grasp those ominous envelopes or shakily type those four life changing letters into the address bar… UCAS.

I know this because this time last year, that was me.

And once that envelope had been opened and those letters had been typed, the flood of pride hit. Because I think, that for me, that was the biggest emotion, with my teachers and peers gathered close. I was proud of what I had achieved, of all the hard work (and believe me, it was a lot of hard work) that I had put in over the last two years, it had all been worth it.

Even just thinking about that moment today I can feel that warm rush of pride wash over me.

Also the warm rush of champagne

Also the warm rush of champagne

It feels like a lifetime ago; because so much has changed. After I calmed down from the initial excitement, I realised what it actually meant. It meant that I had to move away from my family and friends, to a strange place, to live with strange people, to do a course completely different to any learning I had experienced before, and that terrified me.

I am so glad that I didn’t let that fear stop me from going to university because it has been the best thing that could’ve happened to me. The experience has made me become a lot stronger and more independent, I have learnt so much (and not just from my course) and most importantly met some amazing friends. I can honestly say there hasn’t been a time in my life where I have been happier.

Although yes, I miss my family, friends and boyfriend, yes I sometimes feel lonely and homesick and yes the work occasionally does feel impossible; but I know that I can cope, and not just cope, thrive. It also makes me realise how lucky I am that I have all these people to miss, just like the Winnie the Pooh quote says:

So to anyone reading who has collected their results today, I hope that they were what you were hoping for, if not then there are plenty of options so don’t worry. But most of all don’t be scared to do something that scares the crap out of you, university related or not.

One thought on “Results Day: One Year On

Leave a Reply

