Cycling Towards a Healthier Me

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

I am skinny.

That’s just a fact, but by no means does that mean I am healthy. When I thought about it, I realised that I don’t really do any exercise and especially when at uni I can eat quite unhealthily and that was making me feel quite sluggish and gross. This is when I decided that I needed to make some changes.

These changes aren’t something I made to alter my appearance or lose weight (in fact I’m hoping to put some on in muscle form) just for me to feel stronger and healthier.

So in the past few months I have tried to be more active (especially because it’s the holidays so I haven’t been walking to uni everyday) and I thought I would document some of the steps I have been taking on here.

One type of exercise I do enjoy (in summer) is cycling. My parents have also been getting quite into cycling whilst I’ve been at uni so they kind of inspired me too. I started off by going on 10 mile bike rides a couple of times a week and slowly worked my way up to 15 miles, 25 miles and today I completed my first 40 mile bike ride.

It felt great today when I was able to join my parents on one of their longer bike rides, especially after that being my goal at the start of the summer. The longer bike rides are also more exciting because they include food stops along the way!

So I made it round in my makeshift cycling gear; a borrowed cycling top and bike from my mum, sunglasses borrowed from my dad, shorts not made for cycling at all and gloves and helmet that are actually mine.

Vital kit

Vital kit

Something borrowed, something blue

Something borrowed, something blue

Pit stop halfway through

Pit stop halfway through (I realise it’s not the healthiest)

Stop for a cereal bar with 10 miles to go

Stop for a cereal bar with 10 miles to go

Lots of fields and pretty skies

Lots of fields and pretty skies

The end result

The end result

I don’t want to think about how much my legs will ache tomorrow!

3 thoughts on “Cycling Towards a Healthier Me

Leave a Reply

