Edinburgh Fringe Festival

For the whole month of August the Fringe festival hits Edinburgh in a flurry of comedy, theatre and cabaret and this year I was lucky enough to be able to go for the final week. One of my friends attends uni in Edinburgh, so instead of having to pay for a hotel a few of us went and stayed with him.

I really wasn’t prepared for the sheer volume of acts, paid and unpaid, that were performing around Edinburgh, the only down-side to that was that it made it very hard to choose which acts to see. Being poor students, one major thing that affected our decisions was cost, so we ended up seeing mostly free acts with a couple of paid ones dotted in between.

Another thing I wasn’t prepared for was the leafleting. Every step you took another leaflet would be forced in your hand, or waved in your face, most of these would then end up on the floor or stuffed into your bag until it was too heavy to carry.

About 1/100th of the leaflets I received

About 1/100th of the leaflets I received

My favourite act of the week had to be JollyBoat: Nerdplay, it was a free cabaret show by two brothers who sang about pirates, Star Wars and video games, and it was hilarious.

Another of my favourite acts was Marcus Brigstocke, this one we did have to pay for but was worth every penny, I was nearly crying from laughter. Although I hadn’t heard of him before Edinburgh, my friends had, he has been on many different comedy shows on TV. What I really enjoyed was that interspersed within his jokes were strong opinions on equality, feminism and politics which I agreed with. With some comedians I am always on edge as to when the next sexist or racist joke is coming, but with Marcus Brigstocke I found that this wasn’t a problem.

I didn’t really take many pictures because it was so busy, but here are a few.

The journey up

The journey up

View from the park

View from the park

Coffee from my favourite zebra cafe

Coffee from my favourite zebra cafe

More Scottish money

Funky Scottish money

Sun in Scotland?!?

Sun in Scotland?!?

My first time trying sweet potato fries

My first time trying sweet potato fries

Pretty sunset sky

Pretty sunset sky

Full moon

Full moon

We also had a look around the book festival that was going on in Edinburgh and I picked up one of the cute little 80p Penguin Classics; The Tell-Tale Heart by Edgar Allan Poe. I have always been curious about his writing, so here is my chance to check it out.

I have also been picking up cheap candles wherever I have seen them for my uni room in September, so I bought this red berry and jasmine one from Primark.

11920469_10203932965798578_258680163_n

I had such a lovely time and fell in love with Edinburgh a little bit; the pretty buildings, cute cafes and quirky pubs. I am already excited to hopefully go back next year!

2 thoughts on “Edinburgh Fringe Festival

  1. leahrgriffin says:

    Love all this pictures in this article. It’s like I’m living vicariously through you. Also, Poe is fantastic!!! Most of his work is dark but for some reason it just draws you in. The Tell-Tale Heart and The Masque of the Red Death are my favorites. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

