Keeping Fit at Uni

I am ashamed to admit that my last (and first) fitness post was the last time I actually went out on my bike… oops! I don’t know what happened, I was busy on the days the weather was nice and couldn’t face going for a ride in the rain. I also moved back to uni 4 weeks ago, so I no longer have access to a bike.

Last week I decided my inactive period had to end, so here are the tips I’ve found useful for keeping fit at uni.

Consider buying a gym membership

Now I am all for free exercise and was planning on following Youtube yoga tutorials and go out for jogs, but I realised by planning this pressure free exercise schedule I wasn’t sticking to it at all. I decided that if I spent money on the gym then it would pressure me into going to get my money’s worth. This is something that just worked for me, so don’t feel like you have to buy one if you are motivated enough to stick to a home workout plan.

Get the look

I’m not saying you should go and splash out on high end, branded fitness gear (of course you can if you want!), but looking the part definitely helps motivate me to workout. Especially if you are new to exercising or going to the gym, having the appropriate outfit makes me feel as though I belong a bit more. It is also useful for more practical reasons like if you have trainers without the necessary support then your feet will hurt, or if you aren’t wearing flexible clothing you will feel constricted.

Gym clothes

Plan it out

Because the membership I bought only allows access to the gym at restricted times and my timetable is usually pretty busy I’m having to plan my exercise times. I’m finding this helps me to actually stick to a schedule too, especially if I write it in my planner.

Involve your friends

Another way of ensuring I stick to my schedule is planning to go with my friends, this way I have extra motivation to get up that hour early to go swimming because I don’t want to let other people down. This also makes working out more fun and gives you a chance to catch up with friends over something more productive than coffee (although definitely still do that).

Vary your activities

I don’t know about you but I find that going to the gym to do the same hour routine every few days/week can get very boring. My advice is to try out the other facilities your gym offers, for example swimming or exercise classes, or even just dedicate one session to cardio and another to weights and floor work. You could also join a sports society, which not only means you will make new friends, but you can also try some really wacky sports; like the Quidditch society at my uni! Including variety into your workout routines will make them more interesting and motivating.

Celebrate the small goals

I make sure to set myself small goals for each workout, like swimming 54 lengths instead of 50, and make sure to acknowledge when I achieve them. Even just realising that your normal routine is getting that little bit easier to complete is a great feeling and makes it all feel worth it.

Hope these were useful. What workout tips do you have?

Leave a Reply

